Are You a Lefty or a Righty?

I believe that our currency is fake, no longer based on anything but our common belief in it, certainly not gold and silver;

I believe the Federal Reserve Bank is ripping off the American people;

I believe we are regularly lied to by members of our government, and as someone who actually reads history, I know it is a provable fact;

I know we’re being incorporated;

I believe we might be approaching a time when being armed will be a good thing;

I’ve smoked pot;


Am I a member of the rightwing militia?


I believe our taxes should guarantee free and equal education for all;

I believe our taxes should guarantee free medical and dental care for all;

I believe we should revise our entire way of dealing with conflict in other nations, and spend our money on schools and hospitals and basic services such as food and sewage systems for impoverished peoples instead of bombs and hummers and drones;

I’ve smoked pot;


Am I a bleeding heart liberal?


More than being of this that or the other affiliation, this boy is a symptom and an outcome of our current society.

I want to know how many hours he spent on videos and games, alone in his room, while he was a child.  I want to know about his homelife. I believe he is a victim also.

I’m almost as sad for him, and all the disenfranchised young men of the world, as I am for the people he shot.


Bleeding heart?


Yeah, but I’d also like to go get a gun of my own right now.

It would’ve been great to whip out my own glock and take him down; better yet, my 6 shooter, with deadly aim.


I mean, if we’re gonna revert to the wild wild west, I wanna be ready.


I have real lefty friends who live in a very rural state, who are preparing slowly for the great change, apocalypse, peak oil, whatever, and I am always telling them they better get some ammunition, start stockpiling weaponry along with their water and canned goods.  It won’t be all love and peace.


I’m no fool, and I know that sometimes you need to shoot somebody.  If anyone showed up trying to kill my family, I’d want to be able to stop them.


Right wing militia?


Here’s the thing: many hippies and many rightwing militia types agree on many points: The government lies, and is corrupt; the country has been taken over by the Fed; money is fake; we have to be self-sufficient; gotta learn how to hunt; gotta band together; gotta watch out for the cops; and smoking pot is okay.


Things start to split off when it comes to “race”, gender, ethnicity, religion, and taxes.


And where we get our news from.


As for this lost young person who has now, most likely with pride, committed an irrevocable act of violence, murdered many, he is hollow; his life never was, and with his need to be heard by somebody, he has fired deadly weaponry into our history.


This is really nothing new, and we’ve made heroes of plenty of people for this very thing, only in different contexts.  Truly one person’s hero is another’s terrorist.  And one person’s terrorist is another person’s hero.  Salman Taseer and Gabrielle Giffords are two vivid cases of perspective on that.


I wonder if Jared had posters of the guy from the Virginia Tech shooting up on his walls?

Put your 10¢ here: